Home > technology, ubuntu > Error mounting HDD from my Linux machine

Error mounting HDD from my Linux machine

Encountered below error upon mounting my WD HDD in my Linux laptop:

Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 13: $MFTMirr does not match $MFT (record 0).Failed to mount ‘/dev/sdb1’: Input/output error NTFS is either inconsistent, or there is a hardware fault, or it’s a SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows then reboot into Windows twice. The usage of the /f parameter is very important! If the device is a SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first activate it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g. /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the ‘dmraid’ documentation for more details.

To fix, first install ntfsprogs utility by typing in the terminal:

sudo apt-get install ntfsprogs

Then type

sudo ntfsfix /dev/partitionName

In my case, sudo ntfsfix /dev/sdb1

To check if the fix was successful, these commands should be displayed:

exist@exist:~/Projects/ehealth/lib$ sudo ntfsfix /dev/sdb1
Mounting volume… FAILED
Attempting to correct errors…
Processing $MFT and $MFTMirr…
Reading $MFT… OK
Reading $MFTMirr… OK
Comparing $MFTMirr to $MFT… FAILED
Correcting differences in $MFTMirr record 0…OK
Processing of $MFT and $MFTMirr completed successfully.
Setting required flags on partition… OK
Going to empty the journal ($LogFile)… OK
NTFS volume version is 3.1.
NTFS partition /dev/sdb1 was processed successfully.

Whew! Now I was able to access my HDD =) Thanks to forums online!

Categories: technology, ubuntu Tags: ,
  1. neoguix
    December 29, 2011 at 12:46 am

    wonderfull !!!!!!!!

    it’s incredible after three days of difficult research a find you advice and it’s work !!!

    Pour ma part pour les français, j’ai simplement fait

    sudo apt-get install ntfsprogs

    et validé quand il m’a demandé

    j’ai kubuntu 11.10 et un ordinateur HP compaq livré avec VISTA

  2. March 13, 2012 at 6:12 am

    Thank you very much for sharing this information which successfully fixed my problem.

    I stopped using one of my 3x500gb SATA HDD because of I found exactly the same problem and coincidentally my disk mount point is the same as you mention in your example.

    I was reading something about physically installing the hard disk drive on a windows machine and run fdisk to fix any errors but I am not for windows based systems anymore and I love to find useful answers like this.

    Thank you very much! I really appreciate your work!

  3. Siddharth
    May 14, 2012 at 2:31 am

    Thanks a lot…worked like a charm…i thought my hard disk had failed…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

